County courts

PrintPDF Share

County courts are the courts of first instance and hear all civil, criminal and misdemeanour matters. There are 4 county courts in Estonia with 150 justices. County courts divide into courthouses.


In the composition of county courts are land registries and registry departments. A land register and marital property register shall be maintained in a land registry department. The registration department maintains a commercial register concerning undertakings within the territorial jurisdiction of the registration department and a non-profit associations and foundations register concerning non-profit associations and foundations within the territorial jurisdiction of the registration department. 


County courts:

Harju county court
Liivalaia courthouse – 24 justices

Kentmanni courthouse – 28 justices
Tartu mnt courthouse – 14 justices


Viru county court
Jõhvi courthouse – 11 justices

Narva courthouse – 10 justices
Rakvere courthouse – 7 justices


Pärnu county court
Pärnu courthouse – 10 justices
Haapsalu courthouse – 3 justices
Kuressaare courthouse – 3 justices

Rapla courthouse – 3 justices
Paide courthouse – 2 justices


Tartu county court

Tartu courthouse – 18 justices
Jõgeva courthouse – 4 justices
Viljandi courthouse – 4 justices
Valga courthouse –  3 justices
Võru courthouse – 3 justices
Põlva courthouse – 3 justices